Folk Alley Radio Show #191114

by Linda Fahey

folk alley radio show logo

This week on the Folk Alley Radio Show, Elena See shares new music from Rose Cousins, Van Morrison, Monica Rizzio, and The Brother Brothers; exclusive Folk Alley recordings featuring this year's FreshGrass 'No Depression' Singer/Songwriter Award finalists with music from Anna Tivel, Raye Zaragoza, and Abigail Lapell; a new "bootleg track" featuring Bob Dylan with Johnny Cash; plus favorites from Che Apalache, Bonnie Raitt, Martin Sexton, Dan Hicks & the Hot Licks, and more.

In hour two, new music from Lula Wiles, Bill Jones, Bruce Cockburn, Catherine MacLellan, and The Milk Carton Kids; a live track from Lake Street Dive, plus favorites from Ben Sollee, Sarah Jarosz, Bearfoot, and more.

{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Van Morrison - Three Chords and the Truth - Three Chords and the Truth – Caroline International

Stefan Grossman - Avalon Blues - Yazoo Basin Boogie – Shanachie

Danny Burns (feat. Dan Tyminski) - Waiting On Something to Give - North Country - Bonfire Recording

Rose Cousins - The Benefits of Being Alone – Bravado – Bravado

Dan Hicks & The Hot Licks - How Can I Miss You When You Won't Go Away - Alive & Lickin' - Surfdog

Bob Dylan w/ Johnny Cash - Ring of Fire (Outtake) - Travelin' Thru, 1967 - 1969: The Bootleg Series, Vol. 15 – Columbia

Ellis Paul (In-studio) - Kick Out The Lights, Johnny Cash - Folk Alley Exclusive - Folk Alley In-Studio Session

Anna Tivel - Homeless Child - Folk Alley Sessions - FreshGrass No Depression Singer/Songwriter Award Finalists 2019 - Folk Alley exclusive

Abigail Lapell - Ask Me No Questions - Folk Alley Sessions - FreshGrass No Depression Singer/Songwriter Award Finalists 2019 - Folk Alley exclusive

Raye Zaragoza - American Dream - Folk Alley Sessions - FreshGrass No Depression Singer/Songwriter Award Finalists 2019 - Folk Alley exclusive

The Brother Brothers - Summer Rain - Compass Records

Martin Sexton - Pine Away - Mixtape of the Open Road - Kitchen Table Records

Che Apalache - Saludo murguero/María - Rearrange My Heart - Free Dirt

Monica Rizzio - Little Bit of Truth - Sunshine Is Free - Washashore Music

Bonnie Raitt - The Road's My Middle Name - Nick Of Time - Capitol/EMI

Hour Two:

Ben Sollee - Carrie Bell - Carrie Bell - Soundly Music

Bruce Cockburn - Pibroch the Wind in the Valley - Crowing Ignites - True North Records

Catherine Maclellan - Emmet's Song – Coyote - Catherine MacLellan

The Milk Carton Kids - I Meant Every Word I Said - The Only Ones Milk - Carton Records/Thirty Tigers

Sarah Jarosz - Build Me Up From Bones - Build Me Up From Bones - Sugar Hill

Lula Wiles - It's Cool - [single] - Smithsonian Folkways

Lake Street Dive (live) - You Go Down Smooth - Another Day Another Time: Celebrating the Music of Inside Llewyn Davis – Nonesuch

Trampled By Turtles - The Middle - Life Is Good On the Open Road - BanjoDad Records (Thirty Tigers)

Them Coulee Boys – Evangelina - Die Happy - LoHi Records

The Honey Dewdrops - Going Rate - Anyone Can See - The Honey Dewdrops

Oliver the Crow - Sam River - Oliver the Crow - Oliver the Crow

The Steel Wheels - Time To Rest - Over the Trees - Big Ring Records

Bill Jones - The Cold Susquehanna - Wonderful Fairytale - Brick Wall Music

Bearfoot – Billy - American Story - Compass Records


Folk Alley's weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Redia Spada. The show is available for free to stations via or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

  • SHARE: