Folk Alley Radio Show #190926

by Linda Fahey

This week on Folk Alley, new music from The Mavericks, Lauren Pratt, Tinariwen, Brent Cobb featuring Jade Bird, and Dori Freeman; plus favorites from The Highwomen, Dolly Parton, The Band, Sam Beam & Jesca Hoop, Laura Veirs, and more.

In hour two, more new music from Shawn Colvin, Abigail Lapell, Them Coulee Boys, and Joan Shelley; plus favorites from 10 String Symphony, Elephant Revival, Gregory Alan Isakov, David Rawlings, Jon Stickley Trio, and more.

{{Audio for this episode is no longer available}}


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

The Band - Rag Mama Rag - The Band – Capitol

The Highwomen - My Name Can't Be Mama - The Highwomen - Low Country Sound/Elektra

Dori Freeman - That's How I Feel - Every Single Star - Blue Hens Music

Ken & Brad Kolodner - Otter Creek – Otter Creek - Fenchurch Music

Punch Brothers – Julep - The Phosphorescent Blues - Nonesuch Records

Brent Cobb (feat. Jade Bird) - Feet Off the Ground - (single) – Elektra

Shovels & Rope - Leaving Louisiana in the Broad Daylight - Busted Jukebox, Volume 1 - Dualtone Music

Lauren Pratt - In the Valley - Young American Sycamore - Lauren Pratt

Sam Beam & Jesca Hoop - Valley Clouds - Love Letter for Fire - Sub Pop

Maya de Vitry - What the Moon Said – Adaptations - Mud Maker Studios

Tinariwen – Zawal – Amadjar - Anti/Epoch

Johannes Linstead – Durango – Mistico - Earthscape Media

Laura Veirs - Watch Fire (feat. Sufjan Stevens) - The Lookout - Raven Marching Band

The Mavericks - Before the Next Teardrop Falls - (single) - Mono Mundo

Dolly Parton - I Don't Believe You've Met My Baby - Little Sparrow - Sugar Hill

Hour Two:

Joan Shelley - High on the Mountain - Like the River Loves the Sea - No Quarter Records

The Fretless - Macleod's Farewell/Palmer's Gate (live) - Live from the Art Farm - The Fretless

10 String Symphony - Weight of the World - Weight of the World - Poppychop Records

Man About A Horse - You Can Never Go Home - Man About A Horse - Man About A Horse

David Rawlings - Midnight Train - Poor David's Almanac - Acony Records

Abigail Lapell - Ask Me No Questions – Gateway - Coax Records

Lula Wiles - Don't Ask Why - Lula Wiles - Lula Wiles

Them Coulee Boys - Midnight Manifestos - Die Happy - LoHi Records

Elephant Revival - Remembering a Beginning - These Changing Skies - Itz Evolving Records

Gregory Alan Isakov - San Luis - Evening Machines - Dualtone Music Group

Dylan LeBlanc - Honor Among Thieves – Renegade - ATO Records

Jon Stickley Trio – Jewels - Maybe Believe - Jon Stickley Trio

Over the Rhine - Love & Revelation - Love & Revelation - Great Speckled Dog

Shawn Colvin - Shotgun Down the Avalanche (acoustic) - Steady On (30th Anniversary Acoustic Edition) – SLCRecordings

The Pine Hill Project - Wichita - Tomorrow You're Going - Signature Sounds

Folk Alley's weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Redia Spada. The show is available for free to stations via or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

  • SHARE: