Folk Alley Radio Show #190829

by Linda Fahey

This week on Folk Alley, in hour one we say goodbye to summer with music from Blackie & the Rodeo Kings, Alison Brown, and Dar Williams; new music from Shawn Colvin, Ana Egge, Jon Stickley Trio, Austin Plaine, and Session Americana; classics from Tom Rush and Nick Drake; plus favorites from Iris DeMent, Langhorne Slim, and more.

In hour two, more new music from Irene Kelley, Them Coulee Boys, Lillie Mae, Che Apalache, We Banjo 3, and Eilen Jewell; plus favorites from The Show Ponies, I'm With Her, Jake Bugg, and more.

{{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}}


Artist – Title – Album – Label

Hour One:

Blackie & the Rodeo Kings - Summertime's Over – South - File Under: Music

Alison Brown - The Sound of Summer Running - Stolen Moments – Compass

Dar Williams - The End of the Summer - End of the Summer - Razor & Tie

Session Americana - Merrimack County – Northeast - Session Americana

Tom Rush - Mother Earth - The Very Best of Tom Rush – Columbia

Shawn Colvin - Steady On (acoustic) - Steady On (30th Anniversary Acoustic Edition) – SLCRecordings

Shawn Colvin - Texas Blues (live) - Folk Alley Live Recording - Bill Morrissey Tribute Concert 11-17-11 - Live From Folk Alley

Ben Winship - Fit To Be Tied / Sail Away Ladies – Acorns - Snake River

Hard Drive - Bravest Cowboy - Random Access Mash - Hard Drive

Nick Drake - Harvest Breed - Pink Moon – Hannibal

Austin Plaine – Honey – Stratford - Blaster Records

John Stickley Trio - Animate Object - (single) - Organic Records

Langhorne Slim - Old Things - Lost at Last Vol. 1 - Dualtone Music Group

Ana Egge - Ballad of the Poor Child (feat. Iris DeMent) - Is It the Kiss - Story Sound Records

Iris DeMent - The Way I Should - The Way I Should - Warner Bro

Hour Two:

Lillie Mae - Crisp and Cold - Other Girls - Third Man Records

Robert Plant - Little Maggie - Lullaby and the Ceaseless Roar – Nonesuch

Seth Lakeman (feat. Wildwood Kin) - Willow Tree - Ballads of the Broken Few - Cooking Vinyl

Them Coulee Boys - Pray You Don't Get Lonely - Die Happy - LoHi Records

Dead Horses – Turntable - My Mother the Moon - Dead Horses

Eilen Jewell - You Cared Enough to Lie – Gypsy - Signature

The Show Ponies - Only Lie - How It All Goes Down - Freeman Records

I'm With Her (Sara Watkins, Sarah Jarosz and Aoife O'Donovan) - Little Lies - Little Lies (EP) - I'm With Her/Rounder

Che Apalache - Over In Glory / New Swing - Rearrange My Heart - Free Dirt

Tim O'Brien - Father of Night - Red On Blonde - Sugar Hill

Irene Kelley - Faster Than Angels Can Fly - Benny's TV Repair - Mountain Fever Records

Andy Statman – Mockingbird - Monroe Bus - Shefa Records

Jake Bugg - Simple As This - Jake Biugg – Island

The Small Glories - Winnipeg - Assiniboine and the Red - Red House

We Banjo 3 - Prettiest Little Girl (live) - Roots To Rise (Live) - We Banjo 3

Folk Alley's weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Redia Spada. The show is available for free to stations via or directly from Folk Alley via Dropbox for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.

  • SHARE: