Folk Alley Radio Show #180315

by Linda Fahey

Folk Alley Logo - tan matte 240.jpg
This week on Folk Alley, Elena See spotlights new music by folk icon, Joan Baez, from her latest release, 'Whistle Down the Wind;' and more new tunes from the Massachusetts-based indie-folk quintet Parsonsfield, Tommy Emmanuel, Kacey Musgraves, John Prine, Chris Smither, The Wood Brothers, Kieran Kane & Rayna Gellert, Darlingside, Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats, Mary Chapin Carpenter; and we'll hear a set from Vivian Leva's new debut, solo debut, 'Time Is Everything'; plus, more!

Stream this week's show. (audio may take a minute to load on mobile devices)


Artist - Title - Album - Label

Hour One:

Parsonfield - Light of the City - WE - Signature Sounds

Tommy Emmanuel - Saturday Night Shuffle (feat. Jorma Kaukonen & Pat Bergeson) - Accomplice One - CGP Sounds/Thirty Tigers

Jason Isbell - The Life You Chose - Something More Than Free - Southeastern Records

The Wood Brothers - Seasick Emotions - One Drop of Truth - Honey Jar Records/Thirty

The Stray Birds - Radio - Magic Fire - Yep Roc Records

Joan Baez - The Great Correction - whistle Down the Wind - Concord Records

Eliza Gilkyson - Is It Like Today - Paradise Hotel - Redhouse

John Prine - Summer's End - The Tree of Forgiveness - Oh Boy/Thirty Tigers

Chris Smither - Nobody Home - Call Me Lucky - Signature Sounds

Kieran Kane & Rayna Gellert - 15 Acres - The Ledges - Dead Reckoning Records

Jon Stickley Trio - Rice Dream - Lost at Last - Jon Stickley

Kaia Kater - Little Pink - Nine Pin - Kingswood Records

Kacey Musgraves - Spacey Cowboy - Golden Hour - MCA Nashville

The Honey Dewdrops - Wandering Boy - If the Sun Will Shine - self

Hour Two:

Darlingside - Futures - Extralife - More Doug Records/Thirty Tigers

Le Vent du Nord - D'ouest e nest - Tetu - Borealis Records

Sera Cahoone - House Our Own - From Where I Started - Lady Muleskinner Records

Alan Doyle - Summer Summer Night - A Week at the Warehouse - Universal Music Canada

Fortunate Ones - Solitary Sparks - The Bliss - Old Farm Pony Records

Vivian Leva - Time Is Everything - Time Is Everything - Free Dirt

Vivian Leva - Sturdy as the Land - Time Is Everything - Free Dirt

Richard Thompson - Sloth - Acoustic Rarities - Beeswing

Boubacar Traore - Duna Ma Yelema - Dounia Tabolo - Lusafrica

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats - Babe I Know (feat. Lucious) - Tearing at the Seams - Stax/Concrd

Shovels & Rope - (What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love & Understanding (feat. Lucious) - Busted Jukebox, Volume 1 - Dualtone Music

Mary Chapin Carpenter - Naked To the Eye - Sometimes Just the Sky - Lambent Light Records

Haas Kowert Tice - Grandpa's Cheesebarn - You Got This - Haas Kowert Tice

John Gorka - If Not Now - Old Future's Gone - Red House

Folk Alley's weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via or directly from WKSU via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.