Folk Alley Radio Show #180222

by Linda Fahey

Folk Alley Logo - tan matte 240.jpg
This week on Folk Alley in hour one, new music from Cry, Cry, Cry, The Mammals, and Brandi Carlile; an exclusive in-studio session recording from the 30A Songwriters Festival featuring Emily Saliers, performing songs from her 2017 solo album, 'Murmuration Nation'; we'll hear the 2017 Juno Award winners for the Traditional Roots Album of the Year, The East Pointers; plus favorites from the Avett Brothers, Natalie Merchant, Richard Thompson, Patty Griffin, and more.

In hour two, new music from David Myles, I'm With Her (Sara Watkins, Sarah Jarosz, & Aoife O'Donovan), and David Robert King; we'll hear from this year's Folk Alliance International Award winners including Molly Tuttle, Ordinary Elephant, and Rhiannon Giddens; a set from the great Paul Simon who has announced his farewell tour; and more favorites from Lyle Lovett, Shawn Colvin, The Duhks, Tom Waits, and more.

{{Audio for this episode is no longer available.}}


Artist - Title - Album - Label

Hour One:

Jimmy Lafave - Shining On Through - Blue Nightfall - Red House Records

The East Pointers - Tanglewood - What We Leave Behind - The East Pointers

Patty Griffin - Shine A Different Way - Servant of Love - PGM/ Thirty Tigers

Cry, Cry, Cry (Dar Williams) - Cathedrals - single - Cry, Cry, Cry

Richard Thompson - Jet Plane In A Rocking Chair - Acoustic Classics ii - Beeswing

Emily Saliers - Fly - Folk Alley Exclusive-Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival - Folk Alley Exclusive

Emily Saliers - 331 - Folk Alley Exclusive-Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival - Folk Alley Exclusive

Emily Saliers - Train Inside - Folk Alley Exclusive-Live from the 30A Songwriters Festival - Folk Alley Exclusive

The Mammals - Make It True - Sunshiner - Humble Abode Music

Natalie Merchant - Calico Pie - Leave In Your Sleep - Nonesuch

Brandi Carlile - Most of All - By The Way, I Forgive You - Elektra

The Avett Brothers - Live and Die - The Carpenter - Universal Republic

Hour Two

Molly Tuttle - You Didn't Call My Name - Rise (EP) - Molly Tuttle Music

Ordinary Elephant - Best of You - Before I Go - Ordinary Elephant/Berkalin

Rhiannon Giddens (with Bhi Bhiman) - Freedom Highway - Freedom Highway - Nonesuch

David Myles - Look At Me - Real Love - Little Tiny Records

Old Man Luedecke - I'm Fine (I am, I am) - Tender Is the Night - True North Records

Simon & Garfunkel (live) - I Am A Rock - Live From New York City 1967 - Columbia/Legagy

Paul Simon - Wristband - Stranger to Stranger - Concord Records

Lyle Lovett - Natural Forces - Natural Forces - Curb

Shawn Colvin - Not A Drop Of Rain - Uncovered - Fantasy/ Concord Music

David Rawlings - Cumberland Gap - Poor David's Almanack - Acony Records

The Duhks - The Dregs of Birch - The Duhks - Sugar Hill

I'm With Her (Sara Watkins, Sarah Jarosz and Aoife O'Donovan) - Crescent City - See You Around - I'm With Her/Rounder

David Robert King - Where Have You Gone? - Idaho - David Robert King

Tom Waits - No One Knows I'm Gone - Alice - Anti

Folk Alley's weekly, syndicated radio show is produced by Linda Fahey and Elena See with assistance by Jon Nungesser. The show is available for free to stations via or directly from WKSU via FTP for non-PRX members. The Folk Alley Radio Show is presently carried on over 50 stations nationally.