Hear It First

  • Hear It First: Jimmy LaFave, 'The Night Tribe'

    • May 09, 2015
    • Linda Fahey
    Music Road Records (Austin, TX) - Even before he named his first band back in Oklahoma, Austin singer-songwriter Jimmy LaFave knew he belonged to that special fraternity of shadowy creatures who move to rhythms dictated by darkness: the 24-hour diner waitress, the graveyard-shift radio DJs, the cops, the taxi drivers - the musicians.
  • Hear It First - Charlie Parr, 'Stumpjumper'

    • April 20, 2015
    • Linda Fahey
    In concert, he's unassuming: wandering onto the stage as if he has all the time in the world, and usually in a pair of ripped and dirty jeans a size and a half or so too large for his lanky frame.