Album Reviews

  • Global Music to Expand Your World this Bandcamp Friday

    • September 04, 2020
    • Devon Léger

    by Devon Léger - Expand your horizons and pick up one of these albums this Bandcamp Friday. Each Friday of each month through 2020, Bandcamp is waiving their admin fees to help artists, so this is the perfect time to try out a new band.

  • Album Review: Dirk Powell, 'When I Wait For You'

    • September 04, 2020
    • Henry Carrigan

    Every song on Powell’s When I Wait for You, illustrates Powell’s ability to capture a moment of life, to explore its intricacies, and to revel in its beauty, its sadness, its joy.

  • Album Review: Molly Tuttle, '...but i'd rather be with you'

    • August 28, 2020
    • Henry Carrigan

    …but i’d rather be with you illustrates Molly Tuttle’s exceptional musical intuition and creativity and her ability to know exactly how to bring out the essence of a song. She dwells in these song deeply, making them her own, showing us why we should be listening to Molly Tuttle’s entrancing playing and singing as much as we can.

  • Album Review: Daniel Rodriguez, 'Sojourn of a Burning Sun'

    • August 27, 2020
    • Henry Carrigan

    Sojourn of a Burning Sun carries us on a journey into and out of ourselves, with Daniel Rodriguez as our guide. On his debut solo album, Rodriguez illustrates his artful ability to plumb the depths of our hearts and souls and to offer us a healing balm for whatever ails us.

  • Support Black Roots Music this Bandcamp Friday!

    • August 07, 2020
    • Devon Léger

    Since the start of this COVID crisis, Bandcamp has been waiving their fees for artists on the first Friday of each month. These “Bandcamp Fridays” have become an excellent excuse to pick up new music and merch in order to support your favorite artists, most of whom are seriously struggling right now. Because Black Lives Matter, this list is a roundup of some of the best Black roots music on Bandcamp that’s been released recently, much of it from elders of the tradition

    Do what you can to support artists and to amplify Black voices this Bandcamp Friday, 8/7!

  • Album Review: The Milk Carton Kids, 'Live from Lincoln Theatre'

    • August 04, 2020
    • Henry Carrigan

    Live from Lincoln Theatre illustrates what’s best about Milk Carton Kids: their blend of folksy humor and roots music charms and entertains, and their transcendent harmonies transport us momentarily out of ourselves, even as the duo’s humor reminds us of our foibles, counseling us to laugh at them.

  • Album Review: Cinder Well, 'No Summer'

    • July 29, 2020
    • Henry Carrigan

    The rhythms and melodies on No Summer circle back on themselves, creating a lush forest of sounds that enfold us in their encircling arms. Baker creates mesmerizing songscapes that unfold spaciously, inviting us to enter them wherever we find a space and to inhabit them and dwell in their haunting and transporting beauty.

  • Album Review: Eric Andersen, 'Woodstock Under the Stars'

    • June 26, 2020
    • Henry Carrigan

    Woodstock Under the Stars reveals the clarity and depth of Eric Andersen’s musical vision. It’s a chance to celebrate the quiet beauty of his songwriting and music, and it testifies to the power of his music to continue to transform us.