Signup for a folk alley account

Awards Announced by SPBGMA

February 13, 2008

The Society for Preservation of Bluegrass Music in America (SPBGMA) presented their 34th annual Bluegrass Music Awards Feb. 3 at the organization's national convention in Nashville, Tennessee. Awards were presented based on fan votes. Winners included:

Bluegrass Song Writer: Tom T. Hall & Dixie Hall
Album of the Year: The Road Headin' Home - Grasstowne
Bass Fiddle: Mickey Harris
Dobro: Phil Leadbetter
Guitar: Josh Williams
Mandolin: Danny Roberts
Banjo: Kenny Ingram
Fiddle: Hunter Berry
Female Vocalist (contemporary): Rhonda Vincent
Female Vocalist (traditional): Alecia Nugent
Male Vocalist (contemporary): Larry Stephenson
Male Vocalist (traditional): James King
Gospel Group (contemporary): NewFound Road
Gospel Group (traditional): Paul Williams & the Victory Trio
Vocal Group: Rhonda Vincent & the Rage
Instrumental Group: The Grascals
Bluegrass Band of the Year: The Grascals
Song of the Year: Lefty's Old Guitar - J.D. Crowe & the New South
Entertaining Group of the Year: Nothin' Fancy
Entertainer of the Year: Rhonda Vincent

Posted by Ann VerWiebe at February 13, 2008 3:20 PM


Registered users can post comments in the blog. Please register or log in to share your views.

Support Folk Alley During Our Spring Fund Drive!


Pioneers of Bluegrass Honored in Kentucky
New/Emerging Artists Perform at AMA Ceremony
Red House Records Celebrates 25 Years with Anniversary Concert at The Birchmere
Dick Rodgers Passes in Washington, DC
Stuart Ripley Dies in Edinburgh, UK
Weepies Issue A $10,000 Video Challenge
Jack Johnson Named Top 'Green 10' Artist by Billboard
Pete Seeger Nobel Prize Effort Continues
Singer/Songwriter Sara Bareilles Helps Celebrate National Train Day
Bob Childers, Oklahoma Singer/Songwriter, Dies
Bob Dylan Wins Pulitzer Prize
Junos Reward Folk Alley Artists
Interactive Dylan Exhibit Entertains in LA
Feist and Corb Lund Win Independent Music Awards
San Antonio Hosts Roots Music Awards
Gibson Introduces Commemorative Earl Scruggs Banjo
Dave Siglin Retires from Ark
Freight & Salvage Breaks Ground for New Facility
Leonard Cohen Inducted into Rock Hall
'No Depression' Ceases Publication
Willie P. Bennett passes
Steve Earle and Levon Helm Win Folk Grammys
JUNO Awards Nominations Announced
East Coast Music Awards Presented in New Brunswick
Awards Announced by SPBGMA
John Martyn wins BBC Lifetime Achievement Award
Alison Krauss and Robert Plant Head Out on Tour
Martin Hayes Wins "Oscar of the traditional music world"
Riders in the Sky Honored by Society for American Music
'Falling Slowly' Nominated for Oscar



January 2011
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31